Go to the main content

31 Accidentally Vegan Snacks You Can Find at Almost Any Grocery Store

Nostalgic for your favorite childhood snack? We’re here to show you that some of your old-fashioned favorites might just be vegan, so you can navigate the grocery store’s aisles with confidence!

Food & Drink

Nostalgic for your favorite childhood snack? We’re here to show you that some of your old-fashioned favorites might just be vegan, so you can navigate the grocery store’s aisles with confidence!

Growing up eating everything from Doritos to Oreos, we definitely have a soft spot for these not-so-healthy snacks—and a lot of our childhood favorites are vegan, even though not explicitly labeled so. While we love to support proud vegan brands, these “accidentally vegan” snacks you can find at almost any grocery store are perfect to curb those nostalgic cravings. Check out the list of our favorites below.


Lots of candies available in stores use gelatin or other animal derivatives. The options below, including some of the most adored and iconic candies, might surprise you with their fully vegan ingredient lists.

Sour Patch Kids

Gelatin-free, these deliciously tangy Sour Patch Kids fit within a vegan diet and make a tasty treat when you have a sweet tooth. The best part? Their sour watermelon version is also vegan!


While not all Nerds are vegan because of the inclusion of carmine, there is one flavor that you can bank on—grape! Pick up a pack of grape-flavored nerds from the corner store, and relive your greatest childhood memories.


While some limited-edition Skittles flavors are not vegan, you can be confident that the Original, Wild Berry, Skittles Sours, and Skittles Tropical flavors contain only plant-based ingredients—get snacking!

Swedish Fish

With no gelatin, Swedish Fish are perfect for a vegan diet. While most bags of Swedish Fish contain vegan carnauba wax, some (often found at gas stations) contain beeswax—so be sure to check the label!

Jolly Rancher Hard Candy

Both sweet and sour, these Jolly Rancher Hard Candies are 100% vegan. Pick up a bag at your local grocery store and savor these familiar flavors.


This popular movie theater snack is vegan! Grab a bag of Twizzlers, turn on some Netflix, and enjoy your own at-home theater experience.

Fruit Roll-Ups

These tasty treats take us all the way back to our elementary school days when times were simpler. If you’re looking to relive those awesome memories, grab a Fruit Roll-Up and relax—they’re vegan!

Frozen Foods

Have a bit of extra time for food prep? Check out these awesome frozen options! While these fancy snacks do require a bit of prep work, we promise it’ll be worth it. The best part is that these snacks are 100% plant-based and 100% delicious!

Super Pretzel Original Soft Pretzels

With no eggs or dairy, these frozen delights make for the ideal midday snack. Just pop one in the oven for three minutes and you’re good to go! Pro tip: Top your Super Pretzel Original Soft Pretzel with vegan cheese or cinnamon & sugar to give them that extra bit of flavor.

Smucker’s Uncrustables

Nothing screams “the good old days” like an old-fashioned PB&J sandwich—with the crusts cut off, of course. We have amazing news for you, Smucker’s Uncrustables in the flavors Strawberry Jam and Grape Jelly are plant-based, so warm them up and get snacking!


Need a quick snack for after a workout or when you’re on the go? We’ve got you covered with these famous bar brands that are turning out some surprisingly vegan products.

Clif Bars

Yes! Most Clif Bars are thankfully proudly vegan (except for the Peanut Butter & Honey with Sea Salt flavor). Made with plant-based protein, these bars are a great complement to an active vegan lifestyle.

Nature Valley Crunchy Granola Bars

You can be confident enjoying this nostalgic snack, with 100% vegan ingredients in all flavors except for those with chocolate and honey in their titles.

Kashi Chewy Granola Bars

Looking for a quick post-workout snack or an easy breakfast? Kashi’s Trail Mix bar is fully vegan! Loaded with whole-grain oats, cranberries, raisins, and fiber, these granola bars are the ideal meal for when you’re in a pinch.


Without the use of any butter or dairy-based milk fat or whey protein, these crackers are shockingly vegan. You can be confident enjoying some of these American childhood classics while adhering to a plant-based diet.

Ritz Crackers

Who would have thought? These “buttery” Ritz crackers are actually vegan! Pair them with your favorite vegan cheese or spread, or enjoy a whole sleeve.


Not all Triscuits are vegan, but you can always count on their good old-fashioned original flavor when you’re feeling snacky.

Wheat Thins

Add these salty snacks to your shopping list, because most flavors of Wheat Thins—including the original—are vegan! Try your hand at making a fun appetizer with these or use them as a savory snack.


Unfortunately, a lot of chips out there aren’t vegan because they’re flavored with powdered cheese or other dairy derivatives. But we assure you that some of the classics actually have delicious accidentally vegan ingredients, so you can get that familiar taste while still eating plant-based.


Your favorite chips in a can are actually vegan! While not all the flavors are plant-based, you can count on the original for that authentic Pringles taste.

Doritos Spicy Sweet Chili

Unfortunately, most Doritos flavors aren’t vegan because they contain ingredients like buttermilk and cheese. However, one of the tastiest flavors—Doritos Spicy Sweet Chili—is thankfully vegan. We promise these are just as addicting as the original!

SkinnyPop White Cheddar

Are you as surprised as we are? This iconic popcorn flavor is 100% vegan, so you can enjoy the cheesy taste without the use of any animal products.


We could not be more grateful that these spicy snacks are vegan! Opt for plant-based flavors like Fuego, Nitro, Salsa Brava, and Zombie, and be sure to stay away from flavors like Nacho Xplosion, Guacamole, and Crunchy Fajita—which contain animal-derived ingredients, including casein and cheese.


Fritos Original Corn Chips are not only vegan, but are made with three simple ingredients–corn, corn oil, and salt. Looking for something different? Try the Fritos BBQ flavor or Fritos Scoops, both of which are vegan as well.


The Original SunChips flavor might be the only one that doesn’t use animal derivatives, but it is arguably the most delicious. The best part? This flavor doesn’t use palm oil either, which is heavily associated with the deforestation of the earth’s biodiversity hotspots.

Snyder’s Jalapeno Pieces

Can’t believe Snyder’s Jalapeno Pieces are vegan? Neither could we! Rest assured, these well-loved classic pretzels are made with completely plant-based ingredients, so you can still enjoy their bold jalapeno flavor.

Cookies and Pastries

It can be hard to find some of your favorite childhood cookies and pastries that don’t include eggs or dairy, but we’ve done all the hard work for you. Here’s a list of cookies and pastries that you can enjoy while living a plant-based lifestyle.


We couldn’t make this list without including the all-time favorite accidentally vegan snack—Oreos! Grab the original version of this popular cookie or try out one of their fun flavors. Dunk them in a glass of plant-based milk for maximum enjoyment!

Girl Scout Thin Mints

No need to pass on your next Girl Scouts cookie order—America’s favorite Thin Mints are vegan, regardless of the bakery that supplies them. Plus, you can find store brand Thin Mints at many groceries across America.

Teddy Grahams

This beloved bear-shaped snack comes in a vegan flavor! While not all of the Teddy Grahams varieties are plant-based, their cinnamon bears certainly are.

Nutter Butters

Craving a deliciously nutty cookie? Nutter Butters are the way to go! These classic peanut butter treats are totally vegan, so you can pick up a box right now.

Biscoff Cookies

Europe’s favorite cookie is astonishingly plant-based! Whether you’re enjoying them on a plane or buying in bulk, Biscoff cookies are the perfect option for a plant-based diet. Feeling adventurous? Try their smooth and sweet cookie butter.

Belvita Breakfast Biscuits

Good news—your favorite morning breakfast biscuit is vegan! You can choose from flavors like chocolate, apple cinnamon, blueberry, and Golden Oat—all of which are plant-based and contain 1g of protein per biscuit!

Lenny and Larry’s Complete Cookies

If you need to get your daily dose of protein and are looking for a sweet treat, Lenny and Larry’s Complete Cookies are an excellent choice. With a variety of flavors, you’ll never get bored.

Unfrosted Pop-Tarts

Pop-Tarts are undoubtedly a childhood classic. Although frosted Pop-Tarts are not vegan, the unfrosted ones are. If you’re feeling nostalgic, pop one of these in the toaster and get ready for their warm gooey goodness in the flavors of blueberry, strawberry, and brown sugar cinnamon.

Mrs. Freshley’s Oatmeal Creme Pies

Craving one of America’s most cherished snack cakes? We have some great news—Mrs. Freshley’s Creme-Filled Cookies are vegan! Pick up a pack from the grocery store to relive your golden years.

Natalie Brown

Natalie Brown


Natalie, a UCLA senior studying English and Film, moved to LA from Ontario, Canada, and now considers herself a full-fledged Southern Californian, loading up on tacos and guac, tanning at the beach, and blasting YG’s discography any opportunity she gets. When not writing for VegOut or UCLA’s Daily Bruin, she can be found strolling the farmers markets or binge-watching the latest Netflix docuseries.

More Articles by Natalie

More From Vegout