It’s time to stock up your trick-or-treat inventory with these vegan-friendly candy classics.
Calling all spooky, candy-loving herbivores! Did you know that many traditional Halloween candies are accidentally vegan? That’s right—no animal products here. From lollipops to sweet and sour fruity chews, these treats are both fun and compassionate. Though you won’t find any chocolate treats among our accidentally vegan Halloween candy haul, there’s plenty to be enjoyed from these vegan Halloween candy brands. So, it’s time to head to Target and stock up on that Halloween 2022 candy. Check out our list for the best accidentally vegan Halloween candy to score this season.
Sour Patch Kids
You know, the kid-shaped candies that are sour first, sweet later, but all the while totally vegan? Though we are hands down team blue raspberry, we would easily go for any Sour Patch Kids flavor. Right now, we are digging the seasonal Sour Patch Zombies with mouthwatering grape and orange flavors.
Tasting the vegan rainbow on Halloween has never sounded better. Whether you’re into the Original, Wild Berry, or Sour Skittles varieties, all three are fair game. Yep, these treats are all considered accidentally vegan Halloween candy! So, don’t be shy—snag them all. What can we say? We’re obsessed with this fruit-flavored treat.
These fruity licorice twists might just be our vegan love language. We are always happy to see these cruelty-free, berry licorice minis in our Halloween goodie bag. While this Hershey’s candy comes in many flavors and varieties, we choose the strawberry Twizzlers when we get the chance.
Charms Blow Pops
Chewy bubblegum surrounded by a sweet, hard candy shell? Well, sign us up for these Charms Blow Pops! They are like two treats in one. Not a lollipop person? Try the Blow Pop Minis—it’s all the candy goodness without the stick. Oh, and of course, these Charms Blow Pops are totally vegan. No tricks here—only treats.
Satisfy your seasonal sweet tooth with the fruity taste of childhood nostalgia. This family-owned tablet candy brand goes way back! And that is why they are America’s favorite candy roll. Of note, all Smarties candies are vegan, including the yummy Tropical Smarties. BRB—adding these to our 2022 trick-or-treat candy list immediately!
Lick, dip, repeat. This one is an instant throwback to childhood—sticky Halloween night fingers and all. With sweet dipping flavors like RazzApple Magic, what’s not to love? Fun Dips are an accidentally vegan Halloween candy, and we love to see it! Unleash your inner kid and snag this memorable sweet treat for Halloween 2022.
We have another sweet throwback for you—DOTS from the Tootsie Roll company. These chewy and fruity gumdrops, packed up in a mini cardboard box, are a real Halloween candy staple. For accidentally vegan Halloween candy, choose DOTS in Original, Tropical, and Sour varieties—we have options, people! Sour DOTS are our favorite.
Did you know you can find these mini lollipop treats beyond the bank teller’s desk? Yep! And just in time for our favorite spooky holiday. Vegan-friendly Dum Dums come available in a variety of flavors like Blu Raspberry, Cotton Candy, and Butterscotch. The classic Cream Soda is our go-to flavor.
A little salty, a little sweet, a little peanut, a little coconut, and a whole lot of throwback feels. The Chick-O-Stick is a Halloween must. These vegan-friendly candies taste like a coconutty Butterfinger TBH, and we are here for it! PS: The Atkinson’s Candy Co. site has an entire vegan-friendly candy section. Winning!
Not only are these fruity chews tasty AF, but they are also the cutest—it’s the movie theater box for us. In true herbivore spirit, get ready to sink your teeth into these fruit- and veggie-shaped candy bites. That’s right, Jujyfruit shapes include asparagus, tomato, grape, banana, pineapple, raspberry, and pea pods.
Get your DIY costume ready and head out to your favorite neighborhood for some old-fashioned trick-or-treating. Bonus points if you can score some Zotz on your trek. If we had our way, this accidentally vegan Halloween candy would always be in our pumpkin buckets. Find these famously fizzy treats in a variety of fruity flavors.
If you are looking to heat up the neighborhood, these Atomic Fireballs are a great treat choice. These accidentally vegan Halloween candies are flaming hot and seriously spicy. But it’s one of those burns-so-good situations. These cinnamon jawbreakers are a fun and refreshing change from the usual fruity treats and chocolate trick-or-treat candies.
Our mouths aren’t watering, yours are! It’s not like we can blame you on this one. These fruit-flavored candies are a must for Halloween treating and more! Avoid the gummy bites as they contain gelatin, but all the hard candies are cruelty-free and good to go. We love the blue raspberry. What is your go-to flavor?
These red, fish-shaped chewies are an absolute Halloween must. Swedish Fish gummy candies may also be found in other fruit flavors—we see you, tropical minis. While most Swedish Fish formulations are cruelty-free, these berry-flavored treats may occasionally contain beeswax. Be sure to scan your ingredient lists before treating yourself.
Get ready to deck out your fingers in vegan-friendly, wearable candy. Ring Pops are a trick-or-treater’s Halloween dream come true. We are loving the strawberry, watermelon, and blue raspberry flavors—these candy jewels are fit for spooky royalty. Of note, the Ring Pop Gummy Rings are not plant-based because they contain gelatin.
Calling all spooky vegans—we have great news! These bite-sized, throwback candy favorites are vegan-approved. However, before heading out for this year’s Halloween treats, be sure to choose the Original SweeTARTS for trick-or-treating fun. The SweeTARTS Ropes, Ropes Bites, and Chewy varieties are not plant-based.
Now and Later
When it comes to Now and Later candies, opt for the classics. The Original Mix, Tropical Rush, and Berry Smash flavors are all considered accidentally vegan Halloween candy. But, plan to steer clear of the Now and Later Chewy options, along with the Splits candies. These products contain egg ingredients—read: not vegan.
Available in a number of fruity flavors, the tangy, chewy original Airheads bars are vegan and totally calling your name. Team juicy watermelon over here! But be sure to check the ingredients of these taffy-like candies, as not all varieties are vegan-friendly. The Airhead bites, gummies, and gum contain animal-derived ingredients. Spooky!